Ad goes here ...
Entertainment News

National Film Awards 2017 winners announced

Ricky Gervais, Simon Pegg, Sir David Jason, Nicholas Lyndhurst, Noel Clarke, Avin Manshadi and American Honey came up top at this year’s 3rd annual National Film Awards UK

A successful night was had by all last night (29.03.17) , The winners of the 2017 annual National Film Awards were announced. The prestigious event produced by the National Film Academy took place at the Porchester Hall in London and included a plethora of stars who attended the annual awards ceremony to celebrate the best films and talent both infront and behind the cameras.

The glamourous event, hosted by Television Presenter, Louise Gookey saw over 3.1 million fans cast their vote across all categories to decide the winners on the official Academy website at

Simon Pegg, beat off stiff competition from Joan Collins , Kelsey Grammer , Hugh Grant , Julie Andrews , Pierce Brosnan, John Cleese, Jude Law and James Nesbit  to win the award for Global Contribution to Motion Picture.

He added “The National Film Awards is quickly becoming the credible alternative and a very important awards ceremony in motion picture as it is one of the only awards ceremonies to give the power back to the public to nominate and vote for the films they love. I am proud of this award and thank the National Film Academy and all the movie fans who voted for me”

Best Comedy, was won by David Brent ‘Life on the Road’ with the full cast and crew on hand to collect their award. Ricky Gervais who stars and directs the movie had previously commented “It is important to be nominated for the National Film Awards and it feels good to win because it shows that all the hardwork you put into your craft is worth it”.

Image result for Ricky Gervais,

The heavily contested, Best British Film, was won by the popular A Street Cat name Bob a British family drama film directed by Roger Spottiswoode and written by Tim John and Maria Nation. It is based on the book of same name by James Bowen. The film stars Luke Treadaway, Ruta Gedmintas, Joanne Froggatt, Anthony Head and Bob the Cat as himself.

Image result for a street cat named bob premiere

The night belonged to legends of Drama and two of Britain’s most respected actors , Sir David Jason and Nicholas Lyndhurst who received the National Film Academy’s  prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for their services to Drama.

Both actors delivered inspirational acceptance speeches with a main focus on the importance of creativity in Drama.

Highlights of the awards ceremony will be broadcast on VooVix (official broadcast sponsor) and Showcase on Sky on 25th of April.

 Full list of winners for the National Film Awards 2017 included;

Best International Film

American Honey

Best Actor 2017  sponsored by tastecard

Steven Brandon (My Feral Heart)

Best Actress 2017 sponsored by VooVix

Kate Dickie (Couple in a Hole)

Best Breakthrough Performance in a Film  sponsored by Thai Square Restaurant

Jonathan Readwin (Stoner Express)

Best Newcomer 2017 sponsored by White Glo

Avin Manshadi

Best Supporting Actress 2017 sponsored by Fiji Water

Terry Pheto (A United Kingdom)

Best Supporting Actor 2017

Arnold Oceng (Brotherhood)

 Best Comedy 2017 sponsored by VooVix

David Brent: Life on the Road

Best Action 2017 sponsored by Just Cos Catering


Best Drama 2017 sponsored by Blind Pig Cider

I, Daniel Blake

Best Independent Feature 2017 

The Fall of the Krays

Best Documentary 2017 

Britain’s Billionaire Immigrants

Best Thriller 2017

Plan Z

Best Screenplay 2017

Andrea Arnold (American Honey)

Best Short Film 2017 sponsored by Ladida Sweet Treats


Best British Film 2017 sponsored by 

A Street Cat Named Bob

Best Director 2017

Dexter Fletcher (Eddie the Eagle)

Best Foreign Language Film 2017


Global Contribution to Motion Picture 2017 sponsored by 

Simon Pegg

Lifetime Achievement Award 2017 sponsored by Malta Tourism Authority

Sir David Jason

Lifetime Achievement Award 2017 sponsored by Malta Tourism Authority

Nicholas Lyndhurst

Sponsors for this year’s 3rd annual National Film Awards included; Malta (Official Travel Destination) ,  Zuricom, VooVix (Official Broadcast Partner), Sky Showcase, White Glow UK, Heineken, Blind Pig Cider, Snaptcha, Jus Cos Catering (Official Catering partner), tastecard,  Meem, InstantPrint, Fiji Water and Thai Square Restaurant .


Want to take part in the 2018 National Film Awards?

E-mail: [email protected]

Click to comment

Most Popular

To Top